Milestone

by klassman

Next month, my oldest son will celebrate his fifth birthday.  Today he rode his bike without help for the first time.

He is smaller than his twin sister and perhaps the most sensitive of a motley bunch of sensitive souls in our household.  It is not lost on anyone that she has been riding her bike without any help for a couple months.  First he was frustrated, then he lost interest before coming around to defeatism on the subject of his bike.  Today, he was the victor, the conquerer and the champion.  It was an awesome sight to behold.

He rolls a rad blue and white beast of a dirt bike from Target.  Before he took off across the deserted playground this morning, he complained that he didn’t even want it to come out of the van.  He was mad that I refused to put the training wheels back on.  I insisted that I would help when he was ready and that I was sure he could do it without training wheels.

After ten minutes and a snack, he was ready to try.  He triumphed on the first attempt.  Later he told me, “This is my best thing in the whole world.”

I missed out on a ride along Skyline Drive with friends this morning.  It was an easy decision.  I’ve been away from home and missing everyone for days. Little did I know today would be the one of the most memorable rides of my life.

Solo Breakaway from the Peloton.

