Seriously, the Velominati

by klassman

Laurent-Fignon-vainqueur-du-Tour-de-France-en-1983-et-1984-2e-en-1989-a-8-de-Greg-Lemond

These guys take cycling seriously.  Their rules sum up a philosophy.  I am partial toward Rules V (or five), six, nine, 10, 20, 43 and 58.  No triathlete can adhere to them all.  I wouldn’t want to.

The site has good writing and the only thing stronger than the information and knowledge of their opinions is the conviction with which they hold these opinions.  No weak knees here.

A regular feature on the site is called “Anatomy of a Photo” and great photos from the history of professional cycling are shared with a commentary.  Yesterday’s photo of Fignon rolling a pair of full disc wheels while leading the Tour de France (the year that LeMond came storming back to win on the final day, in a time trial, by a mere seconds) is cool.  It reminds us about the spectacle, the color, the motion (and need for high speed shutters), and the unbridled passion of the tifosi that is married to great racing.  From what I’m told, the Olympic Oval at Ironman Lake Placid can be a thunderous, even deafening, place during the finish.

Fignon Crushing '89 TdF

The picture is also a caution that no matter how I train for the Adirondacks and 112 miles, weather will matter.  Six hours in the saddle can be a radically different experience if winds or rain are a factor.  There are things for which I’ll have to prepare and others I’ll simply have to endure.

Fignon prepared to race 21 stages in 1989 and did so magnificently.  He had to endure a heartbreaking loss on the last day.

No matter the weather, I plan to race with my Mavic Aksium wheelset.  One decision I won’t have to worry about is whether to use 404s or 808s or a disc because I’ll use what I have.  Still, I wonder how many people end up missing their goals because they went out on the course with specialty equipment like disc wheels or full wetsuit and they chose the wrong gear for the day.

