Passing Thoughts on a Dreary Sunday

by klassman

A race report for Savageman is finally posted.  Next year, I’d like to go under 6 hours and run well under 2 hours.  This year, I did a cartwheel across the finish line and I’m eager to see how goofy the video looks.  It has yet to materialize with race photos.

There must be some way, outside of a full race schedule, to practice swimming in open water and in heavy traffic.  I’ll have to think on that.

My training focus for the rest of the year will be on core strength and flexibility.  Neither are a strong suit.  Either can be substituted on a rainy or windy day when outdoor activity is quite possible, but not self-motivating.

Yesterday, both Desmond and Josephine confirmed that they want to join Esme and me for the annual neighborhood Turkey Trot.  As I write, Dana is on a ride to Mt. Vernon.  One can only hope that we’re teaching them that being outdoors and active is a fun and a lifelong habit.  The early data points are positive…but I am sure that is the case with all young children.

The Continetals felt nice underneath me last week on the few places where there was sand or light gravel.  I’m not sure if they are all that grippier than the Hutchison racing slicks or if simply having something “new” and not worn gave a boost of confidence.

I’ve still not made it to my August 15 weight goal but on Friday I was within a pound.  Granted, that was after a 67 minute run and and I was dehydrated but, it was less than a pound.  After yesterday’s double birthday celebration at our house, it is time to get back on the wagon.

Yesterday Patrick did the Chesapeakeman Ultra.  It was his first Iron distance race and despite some mild training setbacks in the last six weeks, he has been on top of his game for months.  He finished in just over 11 hours.  I cannot wait to hear the stories.  Maybe next year I’ll do the Aqua-Velo.

Esme Runs

The 2010 Turkey Trotters

