Calibration II

by klassman

For at least two years I have coveted a power meter.  I bought the Stages Cycling offering at the first of February and have been eagerly waiting for its arrival.  It came this week — while I was on crutches.

This morning Noah did some backyard wrenching and installed the new cranks and a bottom bracket.  All that remains to be done is to pair the meter with the new watch from Garmin.

Tucked in behind the new crank arm is the power meter.  It works by measuring micro strains in the metal of the crank.

Tucked in behind the new crank arm is the power meter. It works by measuring micro strains in the metal of the crank.

Oh, and to get my legs back to the place where they can handle pedaling.

Today I noticed that one week after injuring my leg while playing tag with the kids, a bruise has emerged.  It is a dark, ugly mark on the calf.  I also went to the pool to try to stretch out my leg underwater.  I could actually walk but only for about a dozen steps before everything locked up.  Walking in the pool is far superior to walking around on land with crutches.

I’m trying to be patient.  Soon enough.  Soon enough I’ll get back outside and will be using my legs again.

